Leave a comment

Healthy Pizza?

They said that it couldn’t be done. I am on a quest to prove them wrong.

To be honest my quest started when I started to cut wheat out of my diet. Well, gluten really. I had a couple of failed attempts at buckwheat baking, and using spelt flour (including an emotional failed attempt at pizza dough which I am still not ready to talk about) but my luck so far has been non existent. So it wasn’t such a ‘healthy pizza’ quest, it was more ‘alternative pizza’ that initiated the search.

Regardless, I love pizza. I could eat pizza every day if I could. Pizza represents everything that’s awesome in this world, except for the fact that its really not good for you.

So in my infinite search (and I say infinite because I am really not expecting this to ever end), I stumbled across a recipe for thin crust pizza base… made from cauliflower.  WHAT I hear you say? Yeah, you read that right, cauliflower.

Here’s the recipe:

2 cups shredded raw cauliflower
1 cup grated mozzarella
1 egg
1 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp olive oil

Huh. Really?

So all I did was run the cauliflower through my food processor with the grater attachment. Easily done. I grated a cup of sheep mozzarella (staying away from cow dairy). Also easily done. Mixed in a bowl with the egg and salt, then patted down on a pizza tray after drizzling the olive oil over the top, and slowly spread it thin. Probably the easiest part. What happens next? It’s baked on 425 (F) for 15 mins, then taken out to have toppings chucked on top, then back in the oven to grill (broil) for another 3 or so minutes.

What what?! Here’s how it turned out:

IMAG0989

Last bit to mention is flavour. Well, it was pretty bloody tasty, albeit a little ‘pancake’ like (ie you cant pick up a piece and eat with your hands, its a bit soft yet holds together really well). Overall I am dead impressed, and didn’t get that bloated feeling like after eating pizza. It was satisfying, and delicious. This recipe is a keeper.

You are probably thinking what I am thinking – ‘it still has a cup of cheese in the base, AND cheese on the top, so how healthy can it be?!’.  I am wondering what an alternative flour from wheat could bring to the mix, as well as if I would use a cows mozzarella (sheep/goats is really really soft). Can I get it to firm up a bit? Can I go without cheese in the base at all? What else can I come up with? We will see. But for now, I am enjoying my healthIER pizza alternative.

Say Something!

