2 Comments

Turkey Sausages… Was that a bad idea?

During our red meat free August (of which we have accidentally fallen face-first-mouths-open on meat twice, whoops), we have been getting pretty tired of lentils, chickpeas, chicken and veg. So when I stumbled across turkey sausages, I was so excited I may have squealed a bit mid meat section in the supermarket. I had a vision, and that vision involved crusty bread, sauerkraut, mustard and ketchup. I was ready to say hello to a red meat free shake up. And that shake up had condiments all over it.

We have never had turkey sausages before. Why would we, when pork and/or beef sausages are so good?! So I cooked them up, prepped the crusty rolls and the sauerkraut, and we were ready.

One bite in, I was though ‘uh… ok… lets try that again’. Another bite, I was clearly pulling a face as Lee turns to look at me with the same look on his face. What was wrong with these turkey sausages?! They tasted… wrong. The packet said mild, not bland.  What the hell?! They were definitely turkey, but I think the sausage part got lost in translation somewhere.

So in our typical first world problems style, we continued to finish our turkey mockdogs, and were left disappointed at the end. Which continued when I made my lunch this morning, as you can imagine reliving food disappointment isn’t my idea of a good time. So I loaded it with sauerkraut, doused it with ketchup and fuelled it with mustard, wrapped it up tight and chucked it in the fridge when I got to work. Stewing on this all morning, I figured if I nuke it for a minute it might help take the edge off when it was lunch o’clock. But you know what? It was bloody delicious today. What’s that all about?!

At the end of the day, the bottom line is, why would you eat turkey sausages when you can eat turkey as it is, or more importantly, when there are beef and pork sausages that kick the turkey sausages ass?! Don’t think we will be making that same mistake again. Turkey – you are always welcome in this house, but never again in sausage form.

2 comments on “Turkey Sausages… Was that a bad idea?

  1. Thank you!!! I have always been at such a loss as to why on earth people eat turkey sausage- or turkey ham or turkey-something-that’s-not-supposed-to-be-turkey… it’s an attempt to be ‘healthier’ I guess, but just give me the real deal, please!

    • I know! We always laugh at turkey bacon. I never know if its actually turkey, or a way of saying mock bacon. I am all for turkey but next time, if we feel like sausages, we will have ‘real’ sausages 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and for your comment!

Say Something!

