5 Comments

Avocado cookies and other nonsense

For a while I have been wanting to have a crack at avocado cookies, I stumbled across them in a blog some time ago and thought hrm, thats not a bad idea. Plus a friend sent me a Quitting Sugar document (not sure what she is trying to say…) and there was something in there about avocado chocolate mousse and other references to avocado being used instead of cream/butter.

So today I thought hell, why not, lets have a crack. Firstly, apologies, I was disorganized so didn’t take photos of the process and only used my phone camera for the final result. I couldn’t find the other camera, but here it is next to the computer as I type this up. Typical. Second, I am not much of a baker!

I did some research on different recipes, and found this one, which I liked.  Well, enough to start, but substituted a few things and made a few things up as I went.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup well mashed ripe green avocado
  • 1 oz dark chocolate
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsps unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup any kind of milk 

Break the chocolate into chunks and place in a small, glass bowl along with the honey. Carefully position this bowl over a pan of simmering water and leave it for around five minutes until the chocolate melts completely.
Remove from heat and, while it is cooling slightly, whisk the eggs, milk, vanilla, cocoa powder and avocado together. Add the melted chocolate, a spoonful at a time and stir continously. It should be a thick runny batter now.
Sift in the coconut powder, stir.
Dollop a tbsp onto a baking tray (lined with parchment paper or greased) to create ten blobs. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes.

Ok, so here’s where I varied, where I stuffed up, and where I made it up as  I went. I used maple syrup instead of honey, all purpose flour instead of coconut flour, and a vanilla pod instead of extract. I ‘kinda’ overcooked my melted chocolate, and was lazy enough to not want to start that again, so just chucked some maple syrup & choc chips directly into the mix. I also forgot milk, and added that last minute. I found the consistency was very uncookie like so I added more flour, then more flour, then more flour. Probably why these bad boys ended up like little cakes instead of cookies! I expected them to spread, not rise, whoops, so the first batch were small & tall, the second batch I chucked some coconut on top as they looked a bit glossy & boring, and the third I made uber big ones just plain. And I gotta say, these are really bloody delicious!

Next time, I am adding nuts, maybe some pecans. Or some natural peanut butter… *drool* And will use less flour to see if they are less cakelike more cookielike. I am seriously not a baker eh!

Also in the kitchen, I am working on pizza dough. I was really disappointed with my previous pizza dough efforts, and every recipe I came across was so similar it frustrated me. That is, until I stumbled across (and purchased) this cookbook: 

No knead? Done! Only problem is the dough takes all day to rise, up to 18 hours. Luckily its stinking hot here, so I did the dough at 9am, hoping it will be done in time for dinner. If not, well, we will just have to fridge it and have it tomorrow instead. So having my first crack at that also, will post later on about how that turns out.  I wanted to get these kitchen things out of the way while husbandman sleeps in from his last night shift for the month, and before it gets too hot in here.

5 comments on “Avocado cookies and other nonsense

  1. They look good, I like the idea of avocado cookies. I have never seen coconut flour over here so I am glad to hear the substitution worked. Would love to see how the pizza work out too. 🙂

    • Thanks! I would say don’t google image avocado cookies (they look soooo much better) but seriously, have a crack at them, they are bloody delicious. Just checked out your blog btw, love it! And love the ‘keep calm’, rock on 😛
      Stay tuned for pizza madness… Thanks for checking out Team de Souza!

  2. avocado cookies sound so interesting…wonder what it tastes like? you’ll have to let me know.. if you’re looking for something new to read, come check out our food blog! https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

    • Thanks, will check it out! As for the cookies, they taste delicious, like super rich creamy dense chocolate chip cookies, albeit a little cake like. I think maybe I will try avocado brownies next considering the density. I could taste the avocado in the mix, but not after being baked. Go on… give it a go 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Say Something!

